Volunteering Abroad

There are around one hundred agencies in the UK that place volunteers abroad on work projects – some of which are listed below. When writing to any of the organisations you should send a Stamped Addressed Envelope to ensure a quick response.

——————————————————————————–

Practical points to consider

Length of time is a critical factor as projects vary from short term placements of a few weeks to longer term projects of two years or more.

Most organisations will ask you to pay an administration fee for arranging the trip for you.

It is important to check whether the project provides for travel, accommodation, food and pocket money.

Most projects ask for people with particular skills or experience.

Many agencies are small and will place a limited number of volunteers.

Some organisations are aimed at those of a particular religious creed.

Applications to do overseas voluntary work should be made well in advance

 

Checking Out Organisations

It is important that you check out and organisation thoroughly before handing over any money or leaving the country. Ask if you can be put in touch with people who have been on their projects before. If possible try to speak to someone who has volunteered with them in person rather than trusting testimonials. Look at insurance very carefully; will you need your own travel insurance, does their insurance cover you for the kind of work that you will be doing, what would happen if you needed to get back to the UK? Think carefully about the kind of work that you will be doing; is there a genuine need for volunteers to do this or has the opportunity been created as an adventure holiday? Spend some time researching the country that you want to go to, check out the political situation, climate etc.

 

Short term volunteering

•AVIVA – http://www.aviva-sa.com
•Biosphere Expeditions – http://www.biosphere-expeditions.org
•BTCV International Conservation Holidays – http://www.challengesworldwide.com
•Concordia International Volunteering – http://www.concordia-iye.org.uk
•Cross-Cultural Solutions – http://www.crossculturalsolutions.org
•Global Vision International – http://www.gvi.co.uk
•International Voluntary Service – http://www.ivs-gb.org.uk
•International Volunteer Program – http://www.ivpsf.org
•I-to-I -www.i-to-i.com
•UnaExchange – http://www.unaexchange.org
•UNIPAL -www.unipal.org.uk
•VolunteerAfrica – http://www.volunteerafrica.org
•World Jewish Relief – http://www.worldjewishrelief.org.uk
•Youth Action for Peace UK – http://www.yap-uk.org

More information is available from Volunteering England (http://www.volunteering.org.uk/IWantToVolunteer/volunteeringoverseas/shorttermvolunteering.htm)

 

Longer term volunteering

Opportunities for long term volunteering for a year or more are generally for those who have professional skills and experience to offer.
•Africa And Asia Venture – http://www.aventure.co.uk
•African Conservation Experience – http://www.conservationafrica.net
•Africa Networks – http://www.africatrust.gi
•AFS Intercultural Programmes – http://www.afsuk.org
•IAEA/Agriventure – http://www.agriventure.com/ukcontact.asp
•BUNAC -www.bunac.org/uk
•Changing Worlds – http://www.changingworlds.co.uk
•Concern (England and Wales) – http://www.concern.net
•CORD (Christian Outreach-Relief & Development) – http://www.cord.org.uk
•IST Plus Ltd – http://www.istplus.com
•Frontier – http://www.frontier.ac.uk
•Lattitude Global Volunteering – http://www.lattitude.org.uk
•World Challenge Expeditions – http://www.world-challenge.co.uk
•Greenforce – http://www.greenforce.org
•Global Vision International – http://www.gvi.co.uk
•World Service Enquirey – http://www.wse.org.uk
•Inter-Cultural Youth Exchange (ICYE-UK) – http://www.icye.co.uk
•Progressimo – http://www.ciir.org
•International Service – http://www.internationalservice.org.uk
•Kibbutz Representatives – http://www.kibbutz.org.il/eng/welcome.htm
•Médecins Sans Frontiéres – http://www.msf.org.uk
•Peace Brigades International – http://www.peacebrigades.org
•Projects Abroad – http://www.projects-abroad.co.uk
•Project Trust – http://www.projecttrust.org.uk
•Raleigh International – http://www.raleigh.org.uk
•Skillshare International – http://www.skillshare.org
•Students Partnership World-wide – http://www.spw.org
•Sudan Volunteer Programme – http://www.svp-uk.com
•Teaching & Projects Abroad – http://www.teaching-abroad.co.uk
•Travellers Worldwide – http://www.travellersworldwide.com
•United Nations Volunteers – http://www.unv.org
•VentureCo Worldwide – http://www.ventureco-worldwide.com
•VSO (Voluntary Services Overseas) – http://www.vso.org.uk
•Worldwide Volunteering for Young People – http://www.wwv.org.uk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.